Getting Help

7 Dec

I had an appointment with a diabetic nurse yesterday, she was lovely and we had a good chat.

I told her that even though I was diagnosed a few weeks ago, I still hadn’t made any changes until this week, I was confused, obviously I had eaten badly all my adult life and now to be told I have to be even more restrictive was just too much and I didn’t know what I was doing. I know what to eat, when to eat but just doing it is some how too hard for me. In the past I did lose seven and a half stone, I still wasn’t small, but I was more in the normal weight range of people, but due to circumstances it all went back on and a load more and it frustrates me so much, but like I said on my first post, I am an emotional eater it seems, at the time I don’t see it, but now looking back of course I am.

She knew about the things that have happened this year alone and said I had a lot to deal with, so It’s okay that I’m not getting it right and that’s why they are there to help me. The important thing is eating, she asked how I did it last time and it was an at home version of Slimming World, but I said that’s pasta, potatoes[makes my sugars high] rice etc and she said it doesn’t matter right now, the most important thing is losing weight however you do it. Apart from cholesterol all my other tests are fine, so losing weight is going to help me alot.

She explained to me how insulin was like a key to open the cells and let the glucose pass through and that seemed to make sense to me. Again seeing the numbers on the tester seems to be helping too, I was down to 5.4 today, I know that’s mostly the Metformin doing it, but it feels good to know that I am at least trying to make a difference.

20121207_174824

I also asked her about Victoza, the injection that is meant to reduce appetite and replace Metformin I’ve asked the doctor about it, but he seems reluctant for some reason, but I am a perfect candidate for it, especially as the Metformin has given me upset tummies, so I’m on the slow release one at the moment, she wants me to stay on that for a few weeks and get up to three tablets a day then she will switch it out for the Victoza.

Last night I had Linda McCartney sausages with potato and onion gravy, it was lovely, but almost doubled my sugars to 13.9, I was very sad. I’m guessing this means I can’t eat potato very often and I love mash!

Leave a Reply

Gains Lifestyle

Your Source For All Things Fitness, Nutrition, Bodybuilding & More

Granny's Kitchen

Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, and above all have fun

241 Journey

Becoming Whole Through Faith in God Alone

sleeveforme2014

My journey into the process of getting the Vertical Sleeve.......

My Carb Breakup

A girl, PCOS, insulin resistance, and her journey to change her relationship with carbs

ARTLESSLY FIT

Health & fitness in the most simple, cost-effective and straightforward ways

My Sweet Life

Type 1 diabetes can kinda suck; but life can still be sweet. Working out the balance - join me on the journey... ♥

Waisting Away Here

a weird but factual look at bariatric surgery

Tracy's journey after Gastric Bypass Surgery

Gastric Bypass Surgery July 30th 2014

Curvy Girl Unleashed

A Curvy Girl's Approach to Holistic Wellness...

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

The Weight Loss Counter Revolution

Dedicated to giving you the truth about weight loss.

jayandrews84slimmingworld

My journey with slimming world something I never thought would happen

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Flirty by Thirty

A Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG) Weight Loss Surgery Journey

WLS Princess

Trying to take it day by day.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Cwmbran Life

Cwmbran and nothing but Cwmbran

Before and after

Shit changes.

Dana Bean is Getting Lean

Life after RNY Gastric Bypass

6 in 6

my big fat 6 pack in 6 weeks challenge

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

