Full steam ahead

23 Feb

So excited I get to pick up my little puppy this afternoon! Two weeks since I’ve seen her feels like ages ago now. Shes grown a lot looking at the pictures.

CadyYesterday went well. I went to my first appointment for my eyes, now that was weird, they put drops in that sting like soap in your eyes, then you have to wait twenty minutes for your pupils to dilate, before having photographs taken of the backs of your eyes. I did not like that at all, I couldn’t focus on anything close up for about two hours after it, was horrible, so I felt like a celebrity driving to my next appointment, I had sunglasses on all the way, even though it was cloudy! lol It was painful with the light, because my pupils couldn’t adjust. I don’t have to go for a year to eighteen months for that again, he said my eyes looked good, but the results will be back in a few weeks, but he wasn’t worried by what he saw.

Then I went to the appointment I’d been waiting for, I wrote a post on a WLS site yesterday about that, so I’m just going to copy it here;

I was called into a small room with nurse with another woman, she said the people that were with us could come as well, so there were four of us in there. Normally she likes to do it with 6-8 people, but the hospital is being rebuilt so she only had a small room.

She had information packs for us and a computer which had a lot of bullet points on it that she went through and answered any questions as we went along.

She was a lovely woman and made us feel at ease. The other woman asked if we could still be turned down and she said probably not now we had made it there, as funding had been granted by that point, now its going though all the other stages, she said the operation will be in about eight months from now. In April there will be the first appointment with the surgeon, then nutritionist, anesthetist possibly psychiatrist if needed, not always the case then back to the surgeon where we tell them what surgery we want, they only offer the sleeve and gastric bypass, no bands anymore. Then we will be put on the waiting list for the operation.

So like I said the whole process will take about eight months, with two years going back to the hospital for checkups.

Hope this helps anyone else who is going to Morriston for their surgery.

I meant to ask why there were only two options, there is no bpd/ds but forgot. I think I’m going to go for the gastric bypass which is the Roux-en-Y. It has a better result with curing diabetes that the sleeve. Obviously I will talk to the surgeon, its a more dangerous option, but the results are better and they do recommend that one to diabetics, they won’t do this option on non diabetics anymore.

So it was a very good and informative day yesterday. I came home read the info pack she gave us and filled out most of the forms, I just have the three day diet sheet to fill out. The forms will probably say I’m a little crazy so will have to see the psychologist!

Oh and these do a month long liver reduction diet, it’s not liquid like I have read other people have, I think it’s basically reducing carbs, you eat mainly protein in month with two pieces of bread allowed daily, I think that’s what she said anyway, will get more information on that closer to the date.

So by November I should have a date for surgery! Not as quick as they do it in American and places where you have insurance, but at least I’m on my way now.

Very excited!

3 Responses to “Full steam ahead”

  1. dlleatherman February 23, 2013 at 23:14 #

    That is a long wait. I never really thought about how different countries had different medical processes and policies. It’s interesting to hear about it though.

    I know some people here (in the US) have to go through a 6 month program before they can submit paperwork to insurance to see if it’s covered. I got lucky, mine was only 3 months and they accepted my time at Weight Watchers as a supervised diet program so I had already fulfilled that before I started looking into WLS.

    Stay positive and use this time to prepare yourself. It will be here before you know it. :)

  2. dlleatherman February 24, 2013 at 05:57 #

    By the way… your puppy is soooo cute! What’s her name?

  3. Hayley February 24, 2013 at 10:49 #

    I can’t wait now though, I’ve been thinking about it for 13 years and always put it off, but now I’ve made the decision I want it nooooww!

    Her name is Cady (cay dee) I had her in a basket next to my bed last night, she howled every hour, missing her brothers and sister. Felt so guilty and very tired, but she seems happy enough today.

Leave a Reply

Gains Lifestyle

Your Source For All Things Fitness, Nutrition, Bodybuilding & More

Granny's Kitchen

Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, and above all have fun

241 Journey

Becoming Whole Through Faith in God Alone

sleeveforme2014

My journey into the process of getting the Vertical Sleeve.......

My Carb Breakup

A girl, PCOS, insulin resistance, and her journey to change her relationship with carbs

ARTLESSLY FIT

Health & fitness in the most simple, cost-effective and straightforward ways

My Sweet Life

Type 1 diabetes can kinda suck; but life can still be sweet. Working out the balance - join me on the journey... ♥

Waisting Away Here

a weird but factual look at bariatric surgery

Tracy's journey after Gastric Bypass Surgery

Gastric Bypass Surgery July 30th 2014

Curvy Girl Unleashed

A Curvy Girl's Approach to Holistic Wellness...

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

The Weight Loss Counter Revolution

Dedicated to giving you the truth about weight loss.

jayandrews84slimmingworld

My journey with slimming world something I never thought would happen

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Flirty by Thirty

A Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG) Weight Loss Surgery Journey

WLS Princess

Trying to take it day by day.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Cwmbran Life

Cwmbran and nothing but Cwmbran

Before and after

Shit changes.

Dana Bean is Getting Lean

Life after RNY Gastric Bypass

6 in 6

my big fat 6 pack in 6 weeks challenge

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

