New Plan of Attack!

30 Oct

FoodandeatingIf only I didn’t do them both!

I’ve been wondering how I can keep the weight down or even get some off before surgery.

Slimfast was my first thought, but even thinking about it makes me feel very ill. It would be a quick way of doing it, but I know sticking to it for any amount of time will be hard. Plus it will take me back to being 13 and sitting at the lunch table in school with my flask of strawberry Slimfast and having to sit there drinking it, while everyone else eats normal food. Gosh the thought makes me shudder!

My next idea was making food for the week, so I googled it and found some Youtube videos where people show you what they do and I’d liked this idea more. So I made up a load of Quorn and rice and put it in the fridge so I can eat it all week and not have to think about making food, which has made sticking to healthy foods alot easier.

I just need to vary it somehow next time. I don’t think I made enough for the whole week either, so need to practice and come up with some more ideas, there seems to be only one way I can make Quorn fillets, need to find something nice, but low fat to marinade them it.

I really want to get out more as well. I find it so hard though. I love this weather, the rain and wind, it’s my favourite time of year. I don’t really have any appropriate clothes for it, hoping this time next year it will be totally different. I’d love to take the dogs out for a nice long walk and get really cold and them dirty (Cady can’t stay clean in good weather!) and enjoy it. But I’m in so much pain all the time, walking kills me and makes me so out of breath, its just not fun, plus I still have anxiety when going out, I really want this all to go away, it’s one of the things I’m most looking forward to, just a simple long walk on a cold day with my dogs.

I also feel incredibly guilty that they don’t get to go out everyday, I feel like such a bad owner, this will change next year and there will be no stopping the three of us!

 

6 Responses to “New Plan of Attack!”

  1. clare nicholls November 2, 2013 at 21:00 #

    Hi

    I have been reading your blog with great interest as I am also in the process of WLS with Morriston, you are ahead of me though.

    I have appointments with the Diabetic doctor and anaestatist (sp) on the 12th and 14th of this month and was curious as to what happens after that.

    I am also a little concerned as your blog says you were the only one approved for surgery within your group and like you, I was told it was all but guaranteed once we were receiving hospital appointments…….I really hope they don’t turn me down :(

    I have found it hard to locate others who have had, or are going through the process of surgery at Morriston so just wanted to say hi and possibly share experiences :)

  2. Hayley November 3, 2013 at 15:04 #

    Hiya Clare, I had my Diabetic and anesthetist back in July. about two weeks later I was asked to take part in the Diabetes study, so you may get that and then after that it was back to Mr Barry (or Caplin) and then they will put you on the waiting list.

    It did worry me about them not approving the other people, but I was wondering if maybe she meant they weren’t as far along, like maybe first appointment or something, but she did say the only one to go on the list today, so I really don’t know, it does seem silly to go through all that only to be told no, but the one guy that was there before me, was bigger than me, so maybe he didn’t lose or even maybe gained weight and that might be why.

    They are behind at the moment with surgery, which I’m sure you know is very frustrating, I’m just wishing away the next few months and hoping I can lose something inbetween!

    You’ll have to let me know how you get on, be great to share with you!

    Have you had any tests for sleep apnea yet?

    • clare nicholls November 3, 2013 at 19:13 #

      Thanks for replying :)

      I haven’t had an official sleep apnea test but after reading your blog and seeing how long the wait could be, I bought an oximeter and have printed an hour by hour report that I’m taking with me. In 8 hours of sleep my spo2 levels that went under 93 was 0.2% so I’m confident that I don’t have sleep apnea.

      I really hope they don’t turn me down, hopefully you are right and its just that the others required further tests and check-ups or something. I don’t think I could bare it if they said no after building my hopes up.

      I bet you are thrilled to be on the waiting list, a bit of a wait I know but there is light at the end of the tunnel at last :)

  3. Hayley November 3, 2013 at 22:23 #

    Oh that’s good news then. I couldn’t believe how long that would take as well. They really don’t like to do anything fast do they. Where abouts in Wales are you?

    I am so happy, but scared as well, I don’t want to put on weight and I got to get through my birthday and christmas yet!

    • clare nicholls November 4, 2013 at 08:29 #

      I know, the Royal Gwent is a nightmare, when I spoke to my Diabetic Nurse about the sleep apnea test, she said it was an 18 month waiting list which is just rediculous.

      I have my birthday and Christmas to deal with as well……..nightmare!!!

      I find it hard to stick to any kind of diet/eating healthy plan. I have to cook for others (hubby and 3 daughters) the 2 youngest girls like veg but hubby and eldest can’t stand it and continually eat junk, made worse by the fact they are skinny. I only have to look at a cake to put on half a stone lol

      I am from Pontypool :D

  4. Clare Nicholls November 4, 2013 at 09:02 #

    I have just found you on facebook and have sent a friend request :)

Leave a Reply

Gains Lifestyle

Your Source For All Things Fitness, Nutrition, Bodybuilding & More

Granny's Kitchen

Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, and above all have fun

241 Journey

Becoming Whole Through Faith in God Alone

sleeveforme2014

My journey into the process of getting the Vertical Sleeve.......

My Carb Breakup

A girl, PCOS, insulin resistance, and her journey to change her relationship with carbs

ARTLESSLY FIT

Health & fitness in the most simple, cost-effective and straightforward ways

My Sweet Life

Type 1 diabetes can kinda suck; but life can still be sweet. Working out the balance - join me on the journey... ♥

Waisting Away Here

a weird but factual look at bariatric surgery

Tracy's journey after Gastric Bypass Surgery

Gastric Bypass Surgery July 30th 2014

Curvy Girl Unleashed

A Curvy Girl's Approach to Holistic Wellness...

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

The Weight Loss Counter Revolution

Dedicated to giving you the truth about weight loss.

jayandrews84slimmingworld

My journey with slimming world something I never thought would happen

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Flirty by Thirty

A Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG) Weight Loss Surgery Journey

WLS Princess

Trying to take it day by day.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Cwmbran Life

Cwmbran and nothing but Cwmbran

Before and after

Shit changes.

Dana Bean is Getting Lean

Life after RNY Gastric Bypass

6 in 6

my big fat 6 pack in 6 weeks challenge

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

