Off we go :D

22 Sep

This post was started on the 18th September, but it’s taken me so long to write it through tiredness I just haven’t been able focus.


I finally got the “Yes” to go home yesterday morning, to say I was happy was an understatement!

Going to start from the beginning, if you’re not interested here is the short version, went into hospital, got my insides rearranged, came out of hospital and now writing this post :D

Tuesday 9th September;

Rang hospital in the morning to see if my bed was there, was told she had the day to find it and she would ring me back sometime in the afternoon. So I patiently waited all day, but by four I still hadn’t heard, so rang again. She said I had a bed there and to come as quickly as possible so it didn’t go! So off we went for our hour long trip to the hospital.

Start of the journey

Start of the journey

I got to the hospital and went to the ward, where they said the woman was still there and waiting for a transfer to Singleton, so I asked if I could go to the canteen to wait. Left my bags there and off we went. We sat there for a while and I said to my sister and Matthew they could go if they wanted to, but Ash said to check there was definitely going to be a bed there before we left. So we went back to the ward and was told that the woman was too poorly to move, so I didn’t have a bed! They had been ringing around to find me one, but were still looking, so they sat us in a room to wait.
After a while they came to tell me they had a bed on D ward downstairs in about four hours, so I felt a bit better, I told my family they could go after an hour or so and I would be fine.

received_m_mid_1410300178807_347782544511659d85_0 received_m_mid_1410300183794_7f88bb465739494c03_0

Amir, one of the nurses, came in to take some stats and decided my blood sugar was too low at 4.2, I hadn’t eaten all day, I wanted to make sure I got this damn operation, but he said I had to eat, so he brought me a cheese sandwich and some sweet tea, I didn’t know what to do, I knew I couldn’t eat it but I also wanted to do as I was told, so I asked if I could go to the canteen, but another nurse said she would see if they had some cheese for me, so brought me back a few sticks and some crackers and butter, so I ate cheese with butter! Very tasty :/ lol


After about two hours, Amir came to tell me that my bed was ready downstairs on D ward and Mark would take me down, (little did I know how lovely Mark would be later) I was so nervous on lift down, it wasn’t far, but he took me there and found me bed and left me with the new nurses. I am so new to hospitals I asked if I could get undressed and get into bed! lol

I got into the bed and I guess that’s where it started to sink in, how on earth was I going to make it through the night and not run (well walk!) out of the hospital screaming for my life! I had my iPad and phone, magazines and a book, but nothing could focus my mind, so I thought I would write a few letters to my family and my ex husband, just incase the worst happened, I was also writing everything down as it happened and what was going through my head, there was no way I could sleep even though I tried.

I think I might have got about an hour in the end, I woke up probably about 7am and went for a shower, to scrub myself with the antibacterial soap I had. When I got back to my bed, Dr Tom (I don’t know his last name) who is learning I think on Mr Barrys surgical team, came to see me, he listened to my chest again and I reminded him about my hernia and he said he would pass on all the info to the boss, he also said I was second on the list after a removal, I’m assuming it was a band. So I was expecting a little wait. I sat in the chair and was looking at my phone, then a nurse came in with a gown and stockings and said I had been called!
Oh god, then the panic set in, I put on the gown, which was obviously way too small for me, so I put on my dressing gown as well, then she said I had to put on the stockings, so she had a go and so did I they were tough to get on, so we walked to the desk and she asked someone to take me to surgery, then Nia came in and said no no no, back to your bed, I was thinking omg, that’s it, it’s been cancelled, I can’t do this again!
So she took me back to the bed and said to get the stockings off, I was having injections instead and to put on a different papery type gown, that opened at the front, which fit soooo much better. Then she told me this is it, I would be going back to G ward and she would take my things up and now we had to go upstairs and sign the papers and I would be ready.
We walked into the theatre waiting room and sat on the chairs, Mr Barry and Dr Morgan came in to see me, asked if I was ready, I said yes, but was thinking can I still run!?! Off they went and another man came in to walk me down to the theatre, I walked in and all these people were mulling around and I could see this black trolley and Dr Morgan, he asked them to get me a step so I could get on the trolley and said to take off the headrest so they wouldn’t have to move me down to the foot rest. I was panicking like hell at this point, my heart was going crazy and I was stood there looking at this step and trolley thinking am I really going to do this to myself, are you sure you want to do this, but before I knew it I was on the bed, feet touching the foot rest, untangling my gown from underneath me (don’t want to be uncomfortable even when unconscious!) putting my left arm on the arm rest, someone came over and put a cuff on me.. I think thats what it was, the Dr Morgan got the other arm rest and put a monitor on my finger and it seemed like my heart was going crazy, he put a cannula into my arm and all I kept thinking was calm down, calm down, but my heart wouldn’t stop beating crazily, Dr Morgan then put a mask on my face and told me to take some nice slow breaths all it was was air and to breath calmly, I remember thinking is this going to put me to sleep, hes lying to me! Then I think I felt something cold in my hand and my eyes were trying to close and I thought, I’m not going to close my eyes!

And that was my last thought.


I’m working on this… more soon! lol

H x

Leave a Reply

Gains Lifestyle

Your Source For All Things Fitness, Nutrition, Bodybuilding & More

Granny's Kitchen

Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, and above all have fun

241 Journey

Becoming Whole Through Faith in God Alone

sleeveforme2014

My journey into the process of getting the Vertical Sleeve.......

My Carb Breakup

A girl, PCOS, insulin resistance, and her journey to change her relationship with carbs

ARTLESSLY FIT

Health & fitness in the most simple, cost-effective and straightforward ways

My Sweet Life

Type 1 diabetes can kinda suck; but life can still be sweet. Working out the balance - join me on the journey... ♥

Waisting Away Here

a weird but factual look at bariatric surgery

Tracy's journey after Gastric Bypass Surgery

Gastric Bypass Surgery July 30th 2014

Curvy Girl Unleashed

A Curvy Girl's Approach to Holistic Wellness...

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

The Weight Loss Counter Revolution

Dedicated to giving you the truth about weight loss.

jayandrews84slimmingworld

My journey with slimming world something I never thought would happen

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Flirty by Thirty

A Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG) Weight Loss Surgery Journey

WLS Princess

Trying to take it day by day.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Cwmbran Life

Cwmbran and nothing but Cwmbran

Before and after

Shit changes.

Dana Bean is Getting Lean

Life after RNY Gastric Bypass

6 in 6

my big fat 6 pack in 6 weeks challenge

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

