No sleep

13 Aug

Sorry if you had to read this with the huge images! I couldn’t resize them on my phone!

I’m led in my hospital bed listening to some ASMR in the hopes it will let me sleep, but I can’t see it happening. Every time I stay in this hospital I stay awake all night. It’s not fun in the slightest. I asked the nurse for a sleeping tablet, but they don’t give them out here like they did in Morriston, this makes me very sad.

I came in this morning just after 7, went to my Oh so favourite room expecting the same thing to happen again as last time. I sat in the seat closest to the plug socket this time, just so I didn’t have to move to charge my phone.

wpid-20150812_082204_029.jpg

Oh such a pretty pattern!

I got called to see people quite quickly this time, anethetist, surgeon, nurse, another anethetist! but one of the anethetists said I might not get a bed, so I was totally expecting that. I was surprised when the receptionist told me to put my gown and stockings on. No sooner had I come back out from the changing room a very nice man, well boy came to get me. He was lovely. Took me to a room and asked me all the same questions again and then took me down to theatre, well a waiting room before theatre. He called me Cinderella because I was wearing slippers that made a noise as we walked lol he made me feel relaxed. Then he put me on what looked like a child’s trolley and told me they would be about five minutes!
About half hour later another nice man who had been sat talking to the nurses for about twenty minutes walked over and said he was taking me to theatre! He was the main anethetist who would be with me, he was very charming (in a good way!) and told me to start doing some weights! Not right there lol when I’m back at the gym. We had a nice chat, then the phone rang and he said that was Mr Nutt calling from the coffee shop (Costa) to see if I was ready lol at this point I had the cannula in my hand, done by the anethetist I had met earlier on the ward, she was training, she’s only been doing it a week, but had been a doctor for four years. I remember them talking about putting the mask on me and someone telling her to pinch it to me sure it was sealed a few times and that was it.
My next memory was waking up in recovery at about 14:45. Very sore and in pain, but the morphine I kept asking for helped me alot. The nurse that was looking after me couldn’t give me the morphine and had to keep asking for someone else to come and do it. I asked her how come and she said she had transferred from England and wasn’t allowed to do anything until she had training in two weeks! Even though she has been fully qualified for five years! She said it wasn’t cos she was a bad nurse! Lol
wpid-fb_img_1439388367496.jpgI stayed there for an hour, I had apparently been there for fifteen minutes before I knew it. And then got taken up to the ward.

Which is where I have spent most of the day.
Apart from my two trips down to Costa to get a take away. I think I could have gone home, but the nurse told me to stay as I was here, so I have. Probably going to regret that soon when I cant sleep lol but oh well the bed is good for my tummy, I will only try and sleep on it at home and these beds don’t let me do that, so that’s good!
There are six of us in the room. The woman next to me seemed fine all day, was mobile, talkative and very friendly. Her appendix burst two nights ago, though it had been rupturing for four days previous, she had been active, walking up in the lakes and thought she had food poisoning! When it actually burst she came in and had emergency surgery it was apparently in a right mess and it damaged her bowel, but she seemed so good. Then all of a sudden this evening she started to get really ill, being sick constantly, going really pale very tired and hardly able to talk, we got really worried for her. I’m hoping she is going to be okay, but it’s amazing how quickly things can change! She’s sleeping now, so I hope she is feeling more herself again in the morning.
The woman opposite me is a character though. She had a lump removed from her throat that’s been sent away for biopsy. She has a shadow on her lung too, so I’m guessing it’s not going to be good news! She had to stay in tonight because her breathing got pretty bad under anesthetic and she wasn’t in a good way. But all she has wanted all day was a bloody fag! Lol she managed to get down there too and have a few, but that reasoning is beyond me. It’s not her first cancer either and they’ve told her the lump will come back and she will have to ha e not her operation, but as long as we get our nicotine in its all good I guess!
Crazy people!

Soon
H x
image

Leave a Reply

Gains Lifestyle

Your Source For All Things Fitness, Nutrition, Bodybuilding & More

Granny's Kitchen

Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, and above all have fun

241 Journey

Becoming Whole Through Faith in God Alone

sleeveforme2014

My journey into the process of getting the Vertical Sleeve.......

My Carb Breakup

A girl, PCOS, insulin resistance, and her journey to change her relationship with carbs

ARTLESSLY FIT

Health & fitness in the most simple, cost-effective and straightforward ways

My Sweet Life

Type 1 diabetes can kinda suck; but life can still be sweet. Working out the balance - join me on the journey... ♥

Waisting Away Here

a weird but factual look at bariatric surgery

Tracy's journey after Gastric Bypass Surgery

Gastric Bypass Surgery July 30th 2014

Curvy Girl Unleashed

A Curvy Girl's Approach to Holistic Wellness...

Weighty Matters

Just another WordPress.com site

The Weight Loss Counter Revolution

Dedicated to giving you the truth about weight loss.

jayandrews84slimmingworld

My journey with slimming world something I never thought would happen

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Flirty by Thirty

A Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy (VSG) Weight Loss Surgery Journey

WLS Princess

Trying to take it day by day.

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

Cwmbran Life

Cwmbran and nothing but Cwmbran

Before and after

Shit changes.

Dana Bean is Getting Lean

Life after RNY Gastric Bypass

6 in 6

my big fat 6 pack in 6 weeks challenge

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

